Nigeria to host 2021 WAFU tourney


From Kanay Jubal, Abuja
Nigeria has been confirmed as the host of the 2021 West African Football Union (WAFU) Cup of Nations.
According to reports on Fox Sports Africa’s website, sponsors of the tournament, on Tuesday, Nigeria will host the third edition of the competition in September 2021.
According to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), Senegal will stage the second edition of the competition in September 2019.
The first WAFU tournament, hosted by Fox Sports, was held in September 2017 and saw hosts, Ghana, crowned champions in what was a successful event.
The Black Stars defeated Nigeria 4-1 in the final.
The West African Union is made up of 16 countries divided into two zones.
Cape Verde, The Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Senegal and Sierra Leone are in Zone A.
Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Niger, Nigeria and Togo are in Zone B.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here