IT’S NOW OFFICIAL: INEC Declares APC Candidate, Buni, Winner Of Yobe Guber Election


By Hussaini Mohammed Baba, Damaturu

Honourable Mai Mala Buni, the All Progressives Congress’ (APC) gubernatorial candidate, has been declared officially winner of the 2019 governorship election with a total votes of 444,013 trouncing his opponent, Ambassador Umar Bello Iliya of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who got 95,703 votes.

Announcing the results at the INEC headquarters in Damaturu in Yobe state capital, the Returning Officer, Professor Abubakar Musa Gundiri of the Federal University, Wukari said that the election was successfully concluded in all the 17 Local Government councils of the state described the election as free, fair and credible across the state just as he thanked all the stakeholders for the success of the exercise.

This gap in this election is the highest between the winning candidate and runner up in the history of elections in Yobe State. In previous elections, runner ups (always the PDP), used to win some local governments but in this election, there was not a single polling unit won by the PDP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here