16 political parties to contest for LG election in Yobe – YOSIEC


The Yobe State Independent Electoral Commission (YOSIEC) has said that 16 political parties will contest the local government elections in the state slated for December 5 this year.

YOSIEC Chairman, Dr Mamman Muhammad stated this at a news conference in Damaturu.
Muhammad said that among the parties are: APGA, SDP, APP, ZLP, LP, APC, APM, ACCORD, YPP, NNPP and PRP.

However, he said that the election, earlier slated for this month, had been reviewed.

”However, after a series of representations from the election stakeholders, and taking into consideration the elaborate plans needed to comply with COVID-19 protocols, the commission is compelled to review the schedule.

“A revised schedule dated September 4, is hereby released. This new schedule overrides and replaces the September 1, time table,” he said.

Muhammad urged stakeholders to take note of the changes in the new schedule, giving assurance that they would be kept posted on all latest developments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here