Bauchi Bye-Election: APC wins as Dogara holds constituency


The All-Progressive Congress (APC), has won the Bauchi State Assembly Bye-election which held in the Dass Local Government Area of Bauchi state.

Announcing the result, the returning officer of the election, Professor Ahmed Mohammed of the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University said the candidate of the APC, Honourable Bala Lukshi polled 12, 299 while his Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), counterpart, Lawal Wandi polled 11,062 votes.

The returning officer, therefore, said Lukshi was returned elected having scored the highest votes.

However, the Nation gathered there were apprehensions before the final results were declared as some party agents of the PDP were not pleased with the outcome of the election.

The by-election in Baraza Dass State Constituency in Bauchi was touted as a test of political strength between Governor Bala Mohammed of Bauchi State and former House of Representatives Speaker Yakubu Dogara.

The duo had worked together in the 2019 elections only to pull apart in July when Dogara returned to the APC.

Their campaigns were intense in Dass Local Government Area which is regarded as Dogara stronghold, with Bala intent on neutralising Dogara’s influence in Bogoro, Dass, and Tafawa Balewa federal constituency.

The by-election was meant to replace Musa Mante of the APC who was assassinated at his residence in Dass Local Government Area four months ago.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here