Twitter Ban: Buhari names Lai Mohammed, Pantami, Malami, others among team to engage platform over suspension


Story from Kenneth AFOR, Lagos

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday approved the composition of the Federal Government’s team to engage Twitter over the suspension of its operations in Nigeria.

The approval was announced in a statement in Abuja, by Lai Mohammed, Minister of Information and Culture, who will also chair the team.

READ ALSO: Twitter, other OTTs must now register with CAC – Lai Mohammed

The federal government’s team also comprises Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation (AGF), Abubakar Malami; Minister of Communications and Digital Economy, Isa Pantami; Minister of Foreign Affairs, Geoffrey Onyeama, Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Festus Keyamo.

The statement added that representatives of other relevant government agencies will be members.

The federal government suspended the microblogging platform in the country on June 5, after it accused the platform of being used to undermine Nigeria’s corporate existence.

It was said that the company wrote to Buhari, seeking to engage the government over the suspension, with a view to charting a path forward.

Meanwhile, the House of Representatives Joint Committee mandated to interface with the Federal Government and investigate the rationale behind the suspension of the microblogging site, Twitter has commenced sitting.

The committee’s sitting is coming 14 days after it was given a 10-day mandate to conclude its assignment.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here