...Redifining Journalism for Development

2023: Sanwo-Olu wins Lagos APC governorship Primary


Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has won the All Progressives Congress’ (APC) governorship primary in the State.

READ ALSO: Governors’ forum condemns disgraceful exchange between police officer, Sanwo-Olu; demands explanation from IGP 

Sanwo-Olu emerged winner after two other aspirants – former Commissioner of Energy, Mr Wale Oluwo and former Permanent Secretary from the Ministry of Energy, Mr Mustapha Olorunfemi – were not cleared for the primary.

More than 1,225 delegates were expected to cast their votes in the exercise and 1,198 were accredited.

Of those accredited, 1,182 votes were cast with 12 invalid.

The governor shortly after his emergence thanked delegates via his official Twitter handle for giving him another opportunity to continue the good work of governance if reelected

“I am grateful to God, the distinguished delegates and the leadership of the APC for the chance to continue the good work of governance that we have begun in our great state,” he tweeted.

“With this resounding victory in the primary election, I am confident that we are united and ready to continue to be a beacon of hope and service to this great state.

“To the other contestants, I congratulate you for being a part of this very democratic process and invite you to join hands with me #ForAGreaterLagos.”

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.