...Redifining Journalism for Development

Kogi Assembly members impeach 4 principal officers, appoint new ones


Kogi Assembly members impeach 4 principal officers, appoint new ones

Story from Rabi’atu, Lokoja

Kogi State House of Assembly has impeached four principal officers over gross misconduct and misuse of office.

This followed a motion moved by the member representing Dekina/Okura Constituency, Enema Paul and seconded by an Adavi constituency member, Ibrahim Usman.

The impeachment was signed by 17 lawmakers.

Those impeached are; Ahmed Mohammed, Deputy Speaker, Bello Abdullahi Majority Leader, Ndako Idris, Deputy Majority Leader and Moses Ododo, Deputy Chief Whip.

READ ALSO: No PVC, no salaries – IPMAN tells employees

However, the impeached principal officers have been suspended immediately except the former Deputy Majority Leader, Ndako Idris, pending the outcome of investigations on allegations levelled against him.

Meanwhile, new principal officers have been elected.

Those elected are; Alfa Momoh Rabiu, Deputy Speaker, Muktar Bajeh, Majority Leader, Ahmed Dahiru, Chief Whip, Umar Tenimu, Deputy Majority Leader and the new Deputy Chief Whip is Enema Paul.

The Speaker, Prince Matthew Kolawole, congratulated the new principal officers,  urging them to abide by the House standing rules and be loyal to leaders of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

In another development, the Kogi State House of Assembly has dissolved all Standing House while new ones have been appointed.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.