Lawan licks his wounds as Machina refuse stepping down


Lawan licks his wounds as Machina refuse stepping down

Story from Ademola ADEBAYO and Onyinyechi IHEANACHO

The All Progressives Congress (APC) Senatorial candidate for Yobe North in the 2023 elections, Bashir Machina, has said he would not step down for the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, who Asiwaju Bola Tinubu asked to go and start licking his wounds after losing his presidential bid.

Machina, in a letter dated June 13, which was addressed to the National Chairman of the APC, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, emphasised that he was totally committed to his mandate and was working towards delivering Yobe North Senatorial district in the 2023 elections.

It reads: “I write to reaffirm my continual aspiration as the All Progressive Congress unequivocal senatorial candidate for Yobe North Senatorial District, following my clearance, participation, and victory at the party primaries where I polled 289 votes out of the 300 total votes cast.

“I write to reaffirm that I remain committed to the mandate which I won at the primaries, and I have not in any form or manner communicated otherwise.

READ ALSO: 2023 Elections: Pick a youth as running mate, NYCN tells APC

“I have been informed of a purported malicious, and mischievous report and insinuation to the contrary. Please note that I never at any time, signed or communicated in any form any intent to vacate the mandate, which was won at the primaries.”

According to sources, Senator Lawan was secretly given the INEC form by the APC headquarters to fill for submission, although he didn’t submit himself for party screening and didn’t participate in the senatorial primary election which took place in Gashua town on May 28.

In the primaries, Mr Machina, who was the sole candidate, got 289 votes.

According to sources, Mr Lawan, in concert with the APC National Vice Chairman, North East, Mustapha Salihu, is trying to ‘forcefully take over’ the ticket from Mr Machina.

Honourable Bashir Machina is the immediate past chairman of the Governing Board of the Nigeria Shippers Council (NSC).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here