Meet 24 women contesting to be governors in Saturday’s election


Nigerian women are stepping up to take part in the political activities of the nation, as twenty-four women are contesting in the governorship and state assembly elections.

This is as the call for female representation in leadership heightened over the years.

According to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the governorship election will be conducted in 28 states of the federation.

Aishatu Dahiru Binani is governorship flagbearer of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Adamawa State. She is a senator representing Adamawa Central senatorial district in the 9th Assembly. Binani was formerly a member of the House of Representatives representing Yola North/Yola South/Girei federal constituency under the platform of the People’s Democratic Party in the 7th Assembly (2011–2015).

Labour Party (LP)’s Beatrice Itubo is the gubernatorial candidate for Rivers State.

In Cross River State, Ibiang Marikana Stanley is contesting under the Action Democratic Party (ADP), while SDP’s Ogochukwu Nweze is contesting in Enugu State.

Gladys Johnson-Ogbuneke of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and Lancaster Okoro of Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) are the two women contesting for the governorship position in Abia State.

Similarly, there are two women in the Akwa-Ibom State gubernatorial race, Ekanem Abasiekeme of the Action Alliance Party (AAP) and Udoh Emem Monday of the SDP.

The two women contesting in Benue State are Roseline Chenge of the Action Democratic Party (ADP) and Aondona Dabo-Adzuana of Zenith Labour Party (ZLP). Also in Zamfara State, Hadiza Usman is contesting under the banner of Zenith Labour Party (ZLP).

Abubakar Fatima is contesting under the Action Democratic Party (ADP) in Borno State, another northern woman, Umar Binta Yahaya, is contesting under the banner of Action Alliance (AA) in Jigawa State.

Delta State has two women gubernatorial candidates, Onokiti Helen Agboola of Accord party nominated and Cosmas Annabel of All People’s Party (APP).

In Ebonyi State, Chinenye Igwe is the governorship flagbearer of the Allied People’s Movement (APM).

Yakubu Furera Ahmad of Boot Party (BP), and Mahmud Aisha of the National Rescue Movement (NRM) are the two women in Kano governorship race.

In Kwara State, Motunrayo Jaiyeola, an entrepreneur, is the flag bearer of APM.

Lagos State has two female candidates, Funmilayo Kupoliyi is contesting under the platform of the APM, and Roseline Adeyemi of the All People’s Party (APP).

Under the platform of the Young Progressives Party (YPP) is Aduragbemi Euba contesting in Oyo State.

Patricia Tsakpa is the flagbearer of Action Democratic Party (ADP) in Nasarawa State, and in Niger State, a lawyer and certified gender-based violence specialist, Khadijah Abdullahi-Iya is contesting under the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here