INEC declares Gov Makinde winner, polls 563,756 votes


INEC declares Gov Makinde winner, polls 563,756

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Seyi Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner of the just concluded governorship election and the state on Saturday, March 18, 2023.

READ ALSO: PDP wins 25 out of 26 Osun assembly seats

Governor Makinde polled a total of 563,756 votes to beat rival, Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who polled 256,685 votes.

The governor won in 31 of the 33 Local Government Areas (LGAs) in the state.

He was declared winner by the INEC State Collation Officer, Adebayo Bamire.

Recall that governor Makinde was part of the G-5 Governors that formed alliance with Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike who denounced support for their party’s presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here