APC rejects results declaring Bala as winner of Bauchi governorship election

2022 World Environment Day: Bauchi gov’t to establish green areas in urban settlements
Bauchi State Governor, Bala Abdulkadir Mohammed.

APC rejects results declaring Bala as winner of Bauchi governorship election

Bauchi State Governor and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Bala Mohammed, has won his reelection bid, defeating his closest opponent, Abubakar Sadique of the All Progressive Congress (APC) with 93,010 votes.

According to the results announced, the Governor cleared 15 out of the 20 local government areas leaving Sadique with only five councils.

The Nation reports that APC rejected the result shortly after its declaration. The APC agent at the collation centre, Abdulmumin Kundak, refused to sign the reject sheet alleging there were several irregularities.

READ ALSO: Gov. Mohammed promises to accept election results as voters shun polling units in Niger

Mohammed got the majority of votes in Bogoro, Kirfi, Jama’are, Warji, Itas- Gadau, Dambam, Shira, Zaki, Ganjuwa, Dass, and Alkaleri.

The other LGAs he cleared are Ningi, Tafawa Balewa, Toro, and Bauchi, while Abunakar n Giade, Gamawa, Darazzo, Misau, and Katagum.

The final results were announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, headquarters in Bauchi, the state capital on Monday.

The returning officer, Professor Abdulkarim Sabo Mohammed, who is the vice chancellor of Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State, said Mohammed got 525,280 votes to defeat the APC candidate, Abubakar who got 432,272 votes, while Haliru Jika of the New Nigeria People’s Party came third with 60,496.

Also, a breakdown by INEC showed the total number of registered and accredited voters as 2,749,268 and 1,058, 381 respectively.

It further showed the total valid votes as 1,034,379, the total number of rejected votes as 15,221, and the total votes cast as 1,049,600.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here