...Redifining Journalism for Development

Turkish President Erdoğan congratulates president-elect Tinubu on election victory


Turkish President Erdoğan congratulates president-elect Tinubu on election victory 

President of Turkey, Tayyip Erdoğan, has congratulated Bola Ahmed Tinubu for emerging winner in theFebruary 25 presidential election.

Erdoğan will be the latest among other world leaders including President Xi Jinping of China, United Kingdom Prime Minister Rishi Sunak, President of France, Emmanuel Macron, Prime Minister of Israel, Benjamin Netanyahu, to congratulate Tinubu.

READ ALSO: Cuba, Nicaragua congratulate Tinubu on election victory

In his congratulatory letter, President Erdoğan, who described Tinubu as a brother, called for mutual cooperation and partnership that would further the friendly relationship between his country and Nigeria.

Erdoğan, in his letter, also underscored the importance of Nigeria as the “strongest nation in the African continent” while wishing Asiwaju Tinubu a successful tenure of office that will usher in progress for the people of Nigeria.

“On behalf of the Turkish Nation and my own, I would like to extend my heartfelt congratulations to Your Excellency on the occasion of your election as the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria at the elections held on February 25, 2023,” the president wrote.

“I believe that as our strategic partner, Nigeria, under your leadership, will continue its course to a prosperous future. Türkiye attaches great importance to improving its relations with Nigeria, as the strongest nation in the African continent.

“With this understanding, I have no doubt that with our joint efforts we will develop the friendly relations and the growing close cooperation between our countries to the mutual benefit of our people.

“I avail myself of this opportunity to express my heartfelt wishes for the health and happiness of Your Excellency, as well as, the wellbeing and prosperity of the friendly people of Nigeria.”

Neptune Prime reports that Tinubu was declared winner of the election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) after polling 8,794,726 votes, to beat rivals, Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled a total of 6,984,520 votes.

Otter candidates trailing Tinubu in the results Peter Obi of the Labour Party (LP) who came third in the election with a total of 6,101,533 and Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP) who came fourth with 1,496,687 votes.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.