...Redifining Journalism for Development

APC releases 10th NASS zoning arrangement, picks Akpabio as senate president


APC releases 10th NASS zoning arrangement, picks Akpabio as senate president 

The All Progressives Congress (APC) National Working Committee (NWC) has released its zoning arrangement for the leadership of the 10th National Assembly.

In a statement issued on Monday by Barr. Felix Morka, the party’s National Publicity Secretary and members of the NWC, the Senator-elect from Akwa Ibom State, Godswill Akpabio – South-South was picked as the Senate President while Senator Barau Jubrin from Kano State, North-West was chosen as the Deputy Senate President.

READ ALSO: I’m the most qualified to be Senate President – Uzor Kalu

Neptune Prime reports that the Speaker of the House of Representatives was zoned to the North West and Honourable Abass Tajudeen from Kaduna State was chosen while, Honourable Ben Kalu as Deputy Speaker from South East, Abia State.

The NWC added that it arrived at the leadership of the National Assembly after considering reports of consultations and meetings with President-Elect Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, other party leaders, and stakeholders on the zoning arrangements.

More consultations from relevant stakeholders will be needed according to the party to support the various persons chosen ahead of the 10th assembly.

This means that one of the top aspirants for the position of the Senate President, Senator Orji Uzor Kalu has lost out of the bid.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.