...Redifining Journalism for Development

Amb Okafor elected AANI president


Amb Okafor elected AANI president 

Members of the Alumni Association of the National Institute (AANI) has elected Ambassador Emmanuel Obi Okafor as their president.

Ambassador Okafor, a retired diplomat emerged winner in the election after securing 114 votes, defeating Muyiwa Odejayi, who received 91 votes.

READ ALSO: Ex-NCWS president, Shoda, becomes first Black African elected representative on ICW board

This was announced by the Chairman of the electoral body, Engineer MK Umar, a former President of the association.

Also, Mrs Olufunke Amos was elected unopposed as Vice President of the association.

The election of the new Executive Committee (EXCO) members was held during 43rd Annual General Meeting (AGM), which took place at the National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies (NIPSS), Kuru-Jos, Plateau State on Saturday, June 24, 2023.

Other members elected into the EXCOS include Abubakar Ismail Isa as Secretary General with 107 votes, surpassing Rear Admiral Elkannah Oyeleye Jaiyeola (rtd) who obtained 96 votes.

Also, Dr Babatunde Moses Kayode, returned unopposed as Assistant Secretary General, Brigadier General Sani Kukasheka Usman (rtd) returned unopposed as the National Publicity Secretary, while Mrs Maryamu Laka Madami, was elected unopposed as Financial Secretary.

Alhaji Samaila Umar Sifawa, mni CNA, who polled 141 votes, was returned as National Treasurer after defeating Omoniyi O. Fagbemi, mni, who got 60 votes. Doctor (Mrs) Favour Ngozi Ugwuanyi, who got 168 votes, was elected as Welfare/Social Welfare Secretary of the association as the incumbent, Chief (Mrs) Love Ezema, got 33 votes.

Tijjani Inuwa Dutse was elected AANI Legal Adviser after securing 96 votes to defeat Oluwatosin Bodunde and Gloria Ekaete, who got 54 and 49 votes, respectively. Dr Nurudeen Abba Abdullahi was also elected unopposed as Internal Auditor.

Other electoral committee members include Hajiya Aisha Dankani, Rear Admiral FO Isaacs, Doctor Effiok Archibong and Mallam MB Saleh.

Hajiya Aisha Dankani, a former Vice President of AANI, swore in the new EXCO members.

This year’s meeting with the theme of “Building Synergy with Stakeholders towards a Better Society,” was declared open by His Excellency Barrister Caleb Mutfwang, the Executive Governor of Plateau State. It provided a platform for discussions on various issues concerning the welfare of the members, national development, peace, security, and socioeconomic matters.







Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.