...Redifining Journalism for Development

FCT Cleanup Underway: Wike targets Garki, Jabi, 28 other districts


FCT Cleanup Underway: Wike targets Garki, Jabi, 28 other districts

The Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Nyesom Wike, has given his approval for the demolition of slums in Garki, Jabi, and 28 other areas that were previously surveyed by the Federal Capital Development Authority (FCDA) during this administration.

According to the FCTA, this demolition will impact approximately 6,000 buildings, all of which have been marked for removal in an effort to eliminate shanties and illegal structures from the territory.

The FCTA has specified that this demolition will affect 30 different areas across the Federal Capital Territory.

Upon his inauguration as Minister on Monday, Wike, the former governor of Rivers State, made a firm commitment to restore the master plan of the FCT.

READ ALSO: Wike threatens Abuja demolitions on day one

He asserted that all illegal structures would be razed to the ground, and his administration was determined to put an end to land speculation.

Wike disclosed that he had personally toured the FCT at night to witness the situation firsthand.

He expressed his dismay at the distortion of the territory’s master plan, particularly the presence of illegal structures in green areas of Abuja, and he vowed that these structures would face demolition.

Wike stated, “We will reclaim our land and allocate it to those committed to development, with the condition that they must commence development within a specified timeframe.”

However, the Director of the FCTA Department of Development Control, Muktar Galadima, mentioned that a new survey would be conducted.

He emphasized that the last survey had taken place in February 2022.

Areas marked for demolition, as confirmed by the FCTA, include:

  1. Apo Mechanic Village
  2. Byanzhin
  3. Dawaki
  4. Dei Dei
  5. Durumi
  6. Dutse
  7. Garki
  8. Garki Village
  9. Gishiri
  10. Gwagwalada
  11. Idu
  12. Jabi
  13. Kado Village
  14. Karmo
  15. Karshi
  16. Karu
  17. Katampe
  18. Ketti Village
  19. Kpaduma
  20. Kabusa
  21. Kpana Village
  22. Kubwa
  23. Lokogoma
  24. Lugbe
  25. Mabushi
  26. Mpape
  27. Nyanya
  28. Piya Kasa
  29. Jikwoyi
  30. Galadima

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.