...Redifining Journalism for Development

Full List: Federal Govt newly appointed CMDs


Full List: Federal Govt newly appointed CMDs

The Federal Government of Nigeria has appointed eleven(11) exceptional medical professionals as Chief Medical Directors (CMDs) out of 22 Federal Medical Centres across the country.

The announcement was made by Patricia Deworitshe, the Director of Press for the Federal Ministry of Health (FMoH), in a statement released on Thursday.

Taking effect from August 1, 2023, the new CMDs were presented with their letters of appointment during a ceremony held in Abuja by Kachollom Daju, the Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Health. Their initial tenure, spanning four years, signifies the government’s confidence in their abilities to lead.

READ ALSO: FG appoints new CMDs in federal hospitals nationwide 

Here is the list of the appointed CMDs:

1. Prof Nyandanti Yakub Wilberforce – Federal Medical Centre, Hong, Adamawa State.

2. Prof Issa Baba Awoye – Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Buddo-Egba, Kwara State.

3. Dr Umar Faruk Abdumajid – FMC, Daura, Katsina State.

4. Dr Muhammad Shittu Adamu – FMC, Wase, Plateau State.

5. Prof Shuaibu Jauro Yahya – FMC, Mubi, Adamawa State.

6. Dr Mercy Anugwu – FMC, Onitsha, Anambra State.

7. Prof Auwalu Sani Salihu – FNPH, Dawanau, Kano State.

8. Prof Rufai Ahmed – Registrar/Chief Executive Officer, Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Board of Nigeria.

9. Prof Mangwa Kortar – FMC, Makurdi, Benue State.

10. Prof Robinson Chukwudi Onoh – Alex Ekwueme Federal University Teaching Hospital, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State.

11. Dr Nurudeen Isa – National Orthopaedic Hospital, Dala, Kano State.

In addressing the new CMDs, Kachollom Daju urged them to collaborate with healthcare workers and stakeholders as a united team.

She encouraged them to explore all avenues to create a supportive work environment and improve infrastructure to deliver high-standard healthcare services.

Daju also emphasized that their performance would determine the renewal of their tenure, as their skills and expertise should be effectively utilized in their respective health facilities.

Assuring the newly appointed CMDs of the Ministry’s support, Daju stated, “It may be challenging, but there is no challenge that is unsurmountable, and your appointment is an indication of the confidence that the Federal Government reposed in you.

Bring your acquired skills and wealth of experience to bear, as your performance will determine the renewal of your tenure. We will provide the necessary support with the available resources to enable you to meet the standards of the hospital.”

Expressing gratitude on behalf of the newly appointed directors, Dr. Anugwu said, “We are sincerely grateful to President Bola Tinubu and the Ministry for finding us worthy of this appointment. We promise to do our best to improve the lives of our people and justify the confidence placed in us.

We will work tirelessly to advance the healthcare system in our facilities, in line with the vision of Mr. President. Rest assured, we will not disappoint you.”

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.