...Redifining Journalism for Development

FWWC: Spain world champions after 1-0 victory over England


FWWC: Spain world champions after 1-0 victory over England 


The Spanish female national team are world champions after a 1-0 goal defeat to England at the final of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup on Sunday.

Spain with all tenacity and endurance defended their one goal advantage for 74 minutes after Olga Carmona’s 29th minute opener.

READ ALSO: Spain book 1st FWWC final after 2-1 victory over Sweden

Spain’s journey to the final started in Group C winning Costa Rica 3-0, Zambia 5-0, and Japan 4-0.

The team nicknamed La Roja (The Red One) after a resounding triumph in their group stage scoring 12 goals without conceding none trashed Switzerland 5-1 in the Round of 16.

They headed to the quarter finals and beat the Netherlands 2-1. The same scoreline was repeated in the semi final as they squared up against Sweden.

Spain wrapped up their campaign at this year’s tournament beating the Three Lionesses of England 1-0 after defending their goal for more than an hour.

Sunday’s victory for The Red Ones is their first since their debut in 2015.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.