...Redifining Journalism for Development

Aisha Bura triumphs in NAWOJ presidency, defeating incumbent in landmark election


Aisha Bura triumphs in NAWOJ presidency, defeating the incumbent in a landmark election

Aisha Ibrahim Bura, hailing from the Borno State chapter of the Nigeria Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ), secured victory as the new President during the union’s 11th triennial delegates conference. Her triumph over incumbent Mrs. Ladi Bala was marked by a wide margin, with 498 votes to Bala’s 381.

The keenly contested election also saw the emergence of Wasilan Ladan as the National Secretary, Lillian Okonkwo as the National Deputy President, and Jamila Abubakar Chinwe as the National Auditor.

The swearing-in ceremony for the new national executives took place at the Dr. Maryam Babangida Women’s Centre in Abuja, the venue of the election.

Aisha Bura’s journey to the presidency involved overcoming a previous defeat in 2020 against Ladi Bala in Minna, Niger State.

Despite this setback, she strategically regrouped and returned this year to achieve her leadership aspirations. Commentators attribute Bura’s victory to dissatisfaction with the outgone executive’s performance and perceived arrogance.

READ ALSO: Meet Aishatu Ibrahim K. Bura: The presidential contestant NAWOJ

As the new leadership assumes office, the focus is expected to shift toward addressing members’ concerns, fostering consultation, building partnerships, and working to reunite NAWOJ.

The outcome of the election, with Bura securing 498 votes against Bala’s 381, signals a turning point for the union, prompting reflection on past promises and the potential for positive change under the newly elected team.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.