...Redifining Journalism for Development

11 finalists emerge in Wole Soyinka Investigative Reporting contest


11  finalists  emerge  in  Wole  Soyinka  Investigative  Reporting  contest

The  board  of  judges  for  the  2023  Wole  Soyinka  Award  for  Investigative Reporting  (WSAIR)  has  unveiled  11 finalists  for  the  award’s  18th  edition.

In  preparation  for  the  award  event, the  Wole  Soyinka  Centre  for Investigative  Journalism  (WSCIJ)  has arranged  a  comprehensive  lineup  of over  40  speakers  for  the  upcoming Amplify  In-depth  Media  (AIM) Conference.

The  AIM  Conference  will  take  place  on  December  8  and  9, 2023, at  the Abuja  Continental  Hotel  (former Sheraton),  Abuja,  preceding  the  public award  presentation  on  Saturday  9 December  2023.

The  finalists  were  carefully  selected from  a  pool  of  244  entries  received and  are  an  exceptional  group  of investigative  reporters  from  various media  platforms.

READ ALSO: Abuja set to host amplify in-depth Media Conference, Awards in December

They  include  Victor  Asowata  of  The Will Newspaper;  Folashade  Ogunrinde, a  freelance  journalist  with  TV360; Omolabake  Fasogbon  of  ThisDay Newspaper;  Sharon  Ijasan  of  TVC News;  Marcus  Fatunmole  of  the International  Centre  for  Investigative Reporting  (ICIR);  Chukwuemeka Emenike  of  New  Telegraph;  Lami Sadiq  of  Daily  Trust;  Ayodele  Adeniran of  The  Guardian;  Mary  Abayomi  Fatile of  Radio  Nigeria;  Kemi  Busari  of Premium  Times;  and  Beloved  John,  a freelance  journalist  with  ICIR.

The AIM Conference promises enriching sessions with prominent speakers across different sectors, including media, academia, and government. Highlights of the conference will include keynote addresses from Dapo Olorunyomi, Publisher of Premium Times, and Founder/CEO of the Centre for Journalism Innovation & Development (CJID); and interactive discussions led by Umaru Pate, Vice Chancellor, Federal University of Kashere (FUK), Gombe State; Amina Salihu, Deputy Director, MacArthur Foundation; Yemisi Bamgbose, Executive Secretary of Broadcasting Organisations of Nigeria (BON); and others.

This event will provide an extensive platform for knowledge-sharing and networking and is supported by the MacArthur Foundation and the Netherlands Embassy in Nigeria.

The WSCIJ collaborates with other partners to successfully organise this annual conference and award ceremony, showcasing the best practices in investigative journalism and its significance for democracy and anti-corruption efforts.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.