...Redifining Journalism for Development

Messi defeats Haaland to win 2023 FIFA best player award


Messi defeats Haaland to win 2023 FIFA best player award

Argentine football legend Lionel Messi has clinched FIFA’s prestigious “The Best” award for the third time, surpassing Manchester City’s Erling Haaland in the race for the title on Monday.

Despite Haaland’s impressive performance of 52 goals in his debut season for City and leading them to a treble, Messi’s triumph in Ligue 1 with Paris Saint-Germain and the Leagues Cup shortly after joining Inter Miami tipped the scale in his favor.

READ ALSO: Messi wins 8th Ballon d’Or at 36 years of age

While contending with his former Paris Saint-Germain teammate, Kylian Mbappe, Messi dominated the three-man shortlist, securing the majority of votes.

This latest accolade comes just three months after Messi made history by winning the Ballon d’Or for the eighth time.

Having moved to Inter Miami in 2023, Messi made a significant impact, netting 11 goals in 14 appearances and securing a victory in the Leagues Cup with the team.

This win marks Messi’s second consecutive year as FIFA’s Best men’s player, adding to his prior wins in 2022 and 2019.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.