...Redifining Journalism for Development

SWAN elects new leaders in Yobe


SWAN elects new leaders in Yobe

The Yobe state chapter of the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) held an election to appoint new executives to lead the association for the next three years. The election took place at the 27th August stadium, located along Maiduguri road, in the capital city of Damaturu, Yobe state.


The newly elected executives include Joel Duku from the Nation Newspapers as the Chairman. Yusuf Bukar Biriri from Yobe Broadcasting Corporation (YBC) was elected Vice Chairman, and Mustapha Yusuf Musa from the Nigeria Television Authority (NTA) as Secretary.

Penina Jeje Ali from Yobe Radio was elected Treasurer, while Michael Oshomah from TVC News was appointed as the Financial Secretary.

READ ALSO: SWAN mourns late Goni Bukar Lawan

The election also saw Mohammed Rabiu Biriri from Yobe State Television (YTV) and Idriss Yunusa Bingel from YBC assume the roles of Welfare Officer and Assistant Secretary, respectively.

The election process was overseen by Comrade Ahmed Kagana Amshi, the SWAN Vice President for the North East Zone.

Key attendees at the event included Mohammed M. Balumi, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Sports, Dr. AbdulRaham Ago, the State Director of Sports, and various other distinguished personalities and Directors in the Sports Council.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.