...Redifining Journalism for Development

Short notes on Islamic New Year 1446 AH

On the first day of the Islamic New Year, Al Muharam 1, Muslims attend various religious activities, including special prayers and sermons...


Short notes on Islamic New Year 1446 AH

Story from Uji A. ILIYASU

President-General of the Nigerian Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs (NSCIA), Sultan Sa’ad Abubakar III, declared Monday, 8 July 2024, as the first day of Muharram, 1446 AH, that is the Islamic New Year.

Following Sultan’s declaration, some states declared public holiday to mark the occasion.

States that declared holidays include: Borno, Osun, Oyo, Kwara, Katsina, Kebbi, Jigawa, and others. Sultan’s declarations are widely recognised and respected by Muslim communities in Nigeria.

Hijra vs Gregorian calendar

On the first day of the Islamic New Year, Al Muharam 1, Muslims attend various religious activities, including special prayers and sermons at mosques and public places to commemorate the new year.

They reflect on the passing of time and their own mortality, and recite Quranic verses.

On this day, Shiite Muslim sect, mourn the death of Husayn Ibn Ali al-Hussein, the grandson of Prophet Muhammad, for the first 10 days of Muharram.

The Islamic New Year falls on the first day of Muharram, which is the first month of the Islamic calendar. The date changes annually on the Gregorian calendar, but typically falls in September or October.


The occasion commemorates Prophet Muhammad’s (PBUH) migration from Mecca to Medina in 622 AD, which is considered a significant event in Islamic history.

What muslims do on the first Muharram Muslims mark the occasion with prayers, reflection, and family gatherings. Some communities may also hold cultural events and festivities.

READ ALSO: Borno declares Monday public holiday for Islamic New Year

The Islamic New Year is officially celebrated for one day, but some Muslims may observe it for several days.
They gather to recite the Quran, and listen to sermons by Islamic scholars.

The day is a time for Muslims to reflect on their faith, seek forgiveness, and renew their commitment to their values and principles.

For Shiites, Muharram is a month of mourning. Members wear black clothes and beat their chest in remembrance of Imam Hussain.


Muslims visit their friends and extended family members, and gifts are presented to young ones. Some Muslims visit amusement parks, beaches and other places of leisure too.

Days in Islamic year

The Islamic year, also known as the Hijra year, has 354 or 355 days. The months in the Islamic calendar are as follows : al-Muḥarram, Ṣafar, Rabīʿ al Awwal, Rabīʿ ath-Thānī, Jumādā al-ʾŪlā, Jumādā ath-Thāniyah, Rajab, Shaʿbān, Ramaḍān, Shawwāl, Ḏū al-Qaʿdah, Ḏū al-Ḥijjah.
Ramaḍān, the nineth month is the month of Fasting.

Proofreading, editing by Uji A. ILIYASU, Editor at Neptune Prime


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.